top of page

What is my class like?

My Physical Education Class has very little differences from other classrooms.  Although our main focus is on learning how to live a healthy life style and participating in lifelong physical activities.  It is always one of my goals to make sure that Language Arts, Science, History, and Math are also included. Please do not be surprised if your child comes home saying they were multiplying in P.E.  There will be activities that challenge the students physically and mentally.   I expect my students to exercise In P.E., but I also expect them to have fun. Could the students run laps everyday and improve their cardio vascular endurance? Yes, but as much as I want them to improve their endurance, I want them to enjoy the process.  I want my students to form a love for physical activity that can keep them healthy further in their lives. I will always try to make the activities fun, challenging, and exciting.  Will every student like every activity? No, but its my hope that they do find an activity they are extremely interested in an want to pursue outside of PE. In my PE classroom we are not focused on winning.  It is my thought that if you have FUN, then you have WON.  I tell my students all of the time, that they are in P.E. not the Olympics.  Students will participate in activities that are competitive, but I expect my students to show good sportsmanship and respect for their peers.  Even at the Pre-K level I start with activities that require partner/group cooperation.  I have always believed that before students can learn team sports like basketball, that they must learn how to work well with others.  Students must learn how to communicate appropriately before team sports can be introduced.  So, this is why a large number of my activities allow for opportunities for my students to cooperate with one another.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Website

The new website is up and running. I wanted to try something with a little more technology. Please visit often for news, pictures, and updates in May Howard PE. Thank you.

bottom of page